Tuesday, 5 January 2010

Greenwich to become Royal Borough in 2012

The Queen has bestowed Royal Borough status upon the London Borough of Greenwich .to take effect in the year of the Diamond jubilee in 2012.

Business Secretary Lord Madelson announced the honour in the House of Lords. The status is in recognition of the close links between Greenwich and Royalty, since the Middle Ages.

There are currently three Royal Boroughs: Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston, and Windsor and Maidenhead.