Monday, 22 June 2009

Results for new speaker.

Welcome to John Bercow for new speaker for the House of Commons.

First ballot results

John Bercow 179 votes
Sir George Young 112 votes
Margaret Beckett 74 votes
Sir Alan Haselhurst 66 votes
Sir Alan Beith 55 votes
Ann Widecombe 44 votes
Parmjit Dhanda 26 votes
Richard Shepherd 15 votes
Sir Patrick Cormick 13 votes
Sir Michael Lord 9 votes

Second ballot results

John Bercow 221 votes
Sir George Young 174 votes
Margaret Beckett 70 votes
Sir Alan Haselhurst 57 votes
Sir Alan Beith 46 votes
Ann Widdecombe 30 votes

Third ballot results

John Bercow 322 Votes
Sir George Young 271 vote